SUPERSTITION WILDERNESS AREA PLACE NAMES & LANDMARKS

Moderator: somehiker

LDMGOLD
anti-spam detector: No
The middle number please (4): 4

SUPERSTITION WILDERNESS AREA PLACE NAMES & LANDMARKS

Post by LDMGOLD »

There appears to be some interest in different names used for certain landmarks and their source. I thought if there were enough people interested I would start a thread on this subject. I have been working on this project since I first read Arizona Place Names and Motif Index. I have been gathering names for the past five decades and it never fails to amaze me how rapidly names change and (or) deleted from maps (official or unofficial). This could create some real interest. Names like Paso de Tesoro, Bronze Wall, Inspiration Point, Cerro Prieta, Description Rock and so forth date back to around 1918. The Arizona historian James H. McClintock refused to accept these names given to landmarks along the Apache Trail by the Southern Pacific Railroad when they had the concession for tours from about 1915 to 1929. How about Boulder Lake, Murphy Dam, Statue Mountain and etc?

Tom K.

Al Reser's camp in Canon de Fresco atop of Bluff Springs Mountain. Photo c. 1975
cubfan64

Re: SUPERSTITION WILDERNESS AREA PLACE NAMES & LANDMARKS

Post by cubfan64 »

Tom - I'm thrilled to see you start a thread on this subject, but I hope you don't feel too overwhelmed, because I'm afraid I'll be able to keep you plenty busy just by myself :)

I have 2 initial questions:

1) You mentioned Canon de Fresco on Bluff Springs Mountain in the photo you posted of Al Reser's camp. Can you elaborate on when and why this particular canyon was given that name?

As many are aware, that name holds a certain significance in LDM history, but I've heard more than a few canyons pointed out to be the REAL one referred to by legend.