Cactus

mlv
anti-spam detector: No
The middle number please (4): 4

Cactus

Post by mlv » Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:25 pm

Ok, this is my first attempt to get a photo loaded to the BB, so bear with me!

This should be a photo of a cactus in bloom this past spring.

HEY, I got ot to work in the preview !!!
Last edited by mlv on Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mlv

Re: Cactus

Post by mlv » Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:27 pm

Another photo of cacti in bloom:

mlv

Post by mlv » Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:28 pm

Another:

mlv

Post by mlv » Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:30 pm

One more:

reptilist

Post by reptilist » Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:58 pm

I like them, especially the last ones! They look like they're blowing trumpets.

Plays In The Dirt

Post by Plays In The Dirt » Wed Jul 29, 2009 6:06 pm

Nice Photos MLV, thanks for sharing.

mlv

Post by mlv » Wed Jul 29, 2009 6:35 pm

Thanks !

The little guys are about the size of a softball, and they prefer some shade.......this clump of 4 is sort of between my patio cover and the palm trees, so they get a dose of sun, but not a full on blast...........you can see the one to the rear which has two flower stems coming out.

I beleive these little cacti are called Echinopsis (sp?!?), they are great for potting since they sort of have a compact shape to them.

I think the biggger one with the white flowers is called a Flying Saucer (common name)......he gets big, and he sort of lays down and grows horizontal.........but he puts on one serious show a year.........then pops a few individual flowers now and then.

These are all in my yard here in the Las Vegas, NV area.

Plays In The Dirt

Post by Plays In The Dirt » Wed Jul 29, 2009 7:11 pm

mlv wrote:Thanks !
These are all in my yard here in the Las Vegas, NV area.