My Father and the LDM

Moderator: Jim_b

RockyFrisco
anti-spam detector: No
The middle number please (4): 4

My Father and the LDM

Post by RockyFrisco »

My Father, who died in 1986, was a stunt and test pilot as a young man. He was based out of Saint Louis. in the late 30's he became interested in the Lost Dutchman Mine. He and my mother went to Arizona and he searched for the mine. He was pretty sure he had a handle on the location until, one day, he was sure he was close when somebody began shooting at him. He managed to get down and sneak away unharmed. He gave up the quest and went back to Saint Louis. After reading Bob Brewer's book, "The Shadow of the Sentinel," I tend to think there's some substance to Bob's opinions. The matching items on the terrain and the map look to me like they are more than just coincidence or chance. I have derived some great enjoyment from following the account on Google Earth's satellite photos. I'm an expert with a White's detector and I hope to do some searching in the area of the "beehives," the next time I'm in Arizona, not so much looking for gold as for other, historical, artifacts. I think of my detector as a "time machine," I can use to investigate the past.
Jim Hatt

Re: My Father and the LDM

Post by Jim Hatt »

Welcome to the Forums Rocky!

Boy! Your dad was on the scene back when it was really dangerous to be in the Superstitions. Everybody out there had something they were very protective of back then. Even Tex Barkley. He didn't like Dutch-Hunters roaming around in there, and spooking his cattle, sending them off into all four compass directions. :D

Are you talking about the Beehive in Peter's Canyon? That's the only one I know about that has been there for a long time.