Sand Casting Jewelry

oroblanco
anti-spam detector: No
The middle number please (4): 4

Sand Casting Jewelry

Post by oroblanco »

Hola amigos,

With your stones all polished up and ready to mount - how do you make the metal parts of jewelry? I found this site on Sand Casting jewelry, which sounds pretty interesting
http://www.ganoksin.com/borisat/nenam/sand-casting.htm

Has anyone here ever tried this? Any pointers or tips, how to get started in it? Thank you in advance,
Roy
roc2rol

Re: Sand Casting Jewelry

Post by roc2rol »

What a fascinating process and art!
From what I’ve read about casting of metal object it is fine old art!
Perhaps you have some sites or pics of casted jewelry, Roy?

If you haven’t already previewed You Tube there are video of sand casting,
I’d recommend some but on this slo mo dum
I haven’t taken the time to view any

Anyway wish I could speak directly to this but I have no ‘hands on’ knowledge
but I have lots of ideas!
Ed
oroblanco

Post by oroblanco »

No I sure don't have any pics or sites, and probably can't do much about experimenting with this for a while but I want to learn what to do and NOT to do so that when I have the time (and some worn out silver dimes etc) I can try my hand at it. I saw a fellow over in Asia on TV making jewelry using nothing but a chunk of burning wood and a straw to blow on it (to make it burn hot enough to melt the silver) then poured into a sandstone that was split. It is the way swords, spears, tools etc were made back in the Bronze Age (hence the story of the "Sword in the Stone" king Arthur legend, which tells you how old that story really is) so it can't be that complicated.

Thanks amigo - will let you know when I try this and how it works out.
Roy
roc2rol

Post by roc2rol »

Man Roy you never cease to amaze!
The Sword in the Stone !
I never thought it might have occurred that way!
from a sword being casted
That’s amazing!

an ancient art for sure
Smelting ore and casting-- ingots !